SpearPoint Publications

 

Like us on Facebook-Spearpoint

Upcoming Readings

No events scheduled.

SpearPoint email

Contact Mizeta at mizetasworld@live.com, or Howard at fhschneider@comcast.net

Reviews of Snapshots from Amazon

5.0 out of 5 stars. A great variety of stories from many different settings

By J. Goggin on December 3, 2015

Great variety of stories from many different settings, points of view, and subjects. Howard is able to draw you into the character and story very quickly and often leave you wanting more. The genre is by design giving the reader just a glimpse, a splice in the lives of a motley collection of characters in a wide variety of settings. Howard gives us insight into serious topics like prejudice and paranoia, emotional questions of loyalty and love, whimsey on a train to Brooklyn, and playful vignettes on dogs and punctuation. He also has some fun with science fiction topics and sports. An easy and enjoyable read. Highly recommended!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars. A unique and wonderful read

By Jill Powell on November 24, 2015

I had the privelege of proof reading these short stories before they were published, and I enjoyed every minute of it. Not only are they well written, but they are each written with unique voices and bring us into vivid new worlds, all worth visiting. These stories, although not written for children, reminded me of the nights my dad used to read to me before going to bed, and the times I now read with my children--unforgetable moments of connection. In a life where we don't always have time to read a novel, well written short stories like these fulfill our need to connect and make sense of our world through the art of wonderful storytelling.

5.0 out of 5 stars. They are perfect when you want to take a break.

By Amazon Customer on December 15, 2015

This collection will appeal to many readers for many reasons. First, the stories are quick paced and short. so they are perfect when you want to tak a break from another activity for 5- 10 minutes and let you mind enter the many worlds described in these captivating mini-tales. My wife and I especially enjoyed reading them out loud to one another in bed. The fact that they are in general light hearted is a bonus for bed time reading and the fact that the characters are palpable adds meaning to each reader's experience.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars. Wonderful Flash Stories

By Linda N Burk on November 15, 2015

Good variety of well written stories. Descriptions are delightful.Often with an unexpected ending. Some light and makes one smile and others dark and brings home the evil that is out there. Easy to take anywhere and sneak in a story while waiting on the bus or for a friend. Very entertaining.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars. I can say I really enjoyed this collection of short stories

By Greg Proud on December 3, 2015

First time reading flash stories and I can say I really enjoyed this collection of short stories. The wide variety of stories and subjects was really great. After reading one you were quickly looking forward to the next. Check it out.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars. I Loved It!

By Phil on February 20, 2016

I enjoyed this book immensely. So many great stories with twists and surprises all in a few pages each. Perfect for reading in short time frames. I loved it!

 

Top Customer Reviews of Embracing Evil from Amazon.

5.0 out of 5 stars. A great read!

By Amazon Customer on November 19, 2015

 

This crime thriller ranks up there with the best of the genre. Every word counts, the kind of writing that keeps the reader wanting to go on reading, to find out what happens next. Dialog, action, plot, setting, it has it all. And its Portland. All the unique qualities that make the city so interesting are present. The rogue cops and the LGBT community aspects are enthralling. A great read!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars. Fresh, edgy realism executed beautifully.

By J Parker on January 1, 2012

 

The book impresses by bringing a deep understanding not only of the righteous characters, but convincing insight into the lowliest. We leave not embracing, but acknowledging the evil and hatred that ignorance breeds. I usually don't enjoy violence in books, but this author's ability to gently and poetically bring the reader into a world of utter cruelty and violence got me through it painlessly, and I appreciate the look into that world. Well done. I highly recommend this to any book club, it's ripe for discussions.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars. A read-a-holic's delight.

By J. Netherton on September 2, 2012

 

The author had me enthralled from the beginning. Placed in my adopted town, I could see the scenes as described. But you don't have to be from Portland to enjoy the book. It is a gripping suspense and an excellent drama and commentary all at the same time. You will definitely want to carve out some dedicated reading time once you start it.

 

Review of Word Storms from Lulu

By Jean Netherton

Aug 18, 2017

I got sucked into the lives of the people on these pages from the very first sentence. The lives in here are so real. One short story, 'Autopsy', just did me in. And the story by Silver Gladstar, a new author to me, was absolutely delightful I love the world she has created with Faeiries and Witches and Animal friends, and maybe demons. A joyful way to end the book. And as always leaving me wanting more.